OVER 100 YEARS OF EYE CARE
Crowleys Opticians has a long and rich history of eye care at our historic home at 26 Grand Parade in the heart of Cork city. There’s been an opticians at this site since before the foundation of the Irish state. British opticians Harris Rundel opened in December 1916 and served the optical needs of the people of Cork until the early 1970s.
In that time the team at Rundels – lead by the enigmatic Mr Brook – brought many innovative eye care solutions to the city and was a well-respected part of the local business community.
The store witnessed the “Burning of Cork” in 1920, and MANY All-Ireland football and hurling triumphs. As well as witnessing the birth of the new Cork city centre that we know and love today.